Alternatively treat yourself

for more health, success and happiness in life

Ergonomics during sleep - correct sleeping position

Ergonomics during sleep

Topic overview

  1. Ergonomics during sleep – definition
  2. Wrong sleeping positions at a glance
  3. Correct sleeping position
  4. Correct sleeping position – implementation in practice
  5. Ergonomics during sleep – the right mattress

1. Ergonomics during sleep – definition

Ergonomics is a specialist field in which incorrect, one-sided and unphysiological movement patterns are analyzed.

These samples are then used for the treatment and prevention of orthopaedic clinical pictures adapted. When we talk about ergonomics, the first thing that comes to mind is an improvement in the workplace. For example, changes are made to the office chair, the desk height or the position of the screen.

By contrast, ergonomics when driving, ergonomics in everyday life and ergonomics during sleep are much less important.

Ergonomics during sleep is primarily about the sleeping position. But the right mattress and the right pillow also play a role when we talk about ergonomics during sleep.

In this article, however, the focus is on incorrect sleeping positions and their orthopaedic consequences. It also explains the correct sleeping position and how best to implement it.

2. Incorrect sleeping position – overview & explanation

2.1. Incorrect sleeping position – prone position

As illustrated here with lightning bolts, the cervical spine is impaired in the prone position. Since the cervical spine must inevitably be rotated strongly to one side in the prone position, shortening occurs in the rotator area. This can also result in restricted movement in rotation.

Furthermore, the external rotators in the shoulder joint are constricted and shortened. This in turn is a common cause of shoulder joint disorders.

The frequent prone position at night has even worse consequences for the lumbar spine. If you haven’t worked in the field of physiotherapy/orthopaedics for ten years yourself, then you probably think this statement is a complete exaggeration.

However, the analysis of hundreds of intervertebral disc patients in personal care has shown that this sleeping position is one of the main causes of herniated discs in the lumbar spine. A lasting improvement in the condition usually only occurs when the patient himself changes his sleeping position on the therapist’s advice.

2.2. Incorrect sleeping position – side position

The slight lateral tilt of the cervical spine can still be tolerated. For the shoulder joint it is the most damaging sleeping position of all.

The arm is positioned upside down and the humerus is pressed into the acromion. In addition, there is probably the greatest possible external rotation in the shoulder joint with shortening of the external rotators.

Internal rotation and adduction can be seen in the hip joint. Hip joints are very often positioned too far inwards and internally rotated. It is usually caused by falls on the trochanter (outer hip bone) and a weakened longitudinal arch in the foot. Osteoarthritis of the hip joint is significantly accelerated by this sleeping position.

Knee problems can also occur in this sleeping position. On the one hand, compression can cause problems if the knee rests on the knee for a long time. On the other hand, there is a narrowing in the area of the outer meniscus.

Changing this sleeping position brings great progress, especially in the treatment of shoulder joint disorders.

2.2. Incorrect sleeping position – side position

The slight lateral tilt of the cervical spine can still be tolerated. For the shoulder joint it is the most damaging sleeping position of all.

The arm is positioned upside down and the humerus is pressed into the acromion. In addition, there is probably the greatest possible external rotation in the shoulder joint with shortening of the external rotators.

Internal rotation and adduction can be seen in the hip joint. Hip joints are very often positioned too far inwards and internally rotated. It is usually caused by falls on the trochanter (outer hip bone) and a weakened longitudinal arch in the foot. Osteoarthritis of the hip joint is significantly accelerated by this sleeping position.

Knee problems can also occur in this sleeping position. On the one hand, compression can cause problems if the knee rests on the knee for a long time. On the other hand, there is a narrowing in the area of the outer meniscus.

Changing this sleeping position brings great progress, especially in the treatment of shoulder joint disorders.

2.1. Incorrect sleeping position – prone position

As illustrated here with lightning bolts, the cervical spine is impaired in the prone position. Since the cervical spine must inevitably be rotated strongly to one side in the prone position, shortening occurs in the rotator area. This can also result in restricted movement in rotation.

Furthermore, the external rotators in the shoulder joint are constricted and shortened. This in turn is a common cause of
shoulder joint disorders
.

The frequent prone position at night has even worse consequences for the lumbar spine. If you haven’t worked in the field of physiotherapy/orthopaedics for ten years yourself, then you probably think this statement is a complete exaggeration.

However, the analysis of hundreds of intervertebral disc patients in personal care has shown that this sleeping position is one of the main causes of herniated discs in the lumbar spine. A lasting improvement in the condition usually only occurs when the patient himself changes his sleeping position on the therapist’s advice.

2.3. Incorrect sleeping position – arms over head, legs bent

The last picture shows an overhead position of the arms with an external rotation position of the hip joint. This sleeping position rarely occurs in combination. However, one of the two is occasionally done in exactly the same way.

An overhead position of the arms leads to a severe narrowing of the subacromial space. This space is the distance between the acromion and the humerus. Furthermore, the external rotators in the shoulder joint are also severely restricted and shortened. Both are reasons for the development of shoulder joint diseases.

The bent, externally rotated legs pose no problem for the hip joints. However, the flashes should represent a severe constriction in the area of the medial meniscus. It is a particularly unfavorable sleeping position for patients who already have knee problems.

3. Correct sleeping position – supine position

The correct sleeping position is the supine position. A slight rotation of the cervical spine is possible and unproblematic. The arms can be positioned next to the body or on the stomach.

In this sleeping position, there is no constriction of the cervical spine or shoulder joint. The entire back is also relieved.

Only a very soft mattress can have a negative effect on an existing hollow back.

This sleeping position is also very beneficial for the hip and knee joints. Misalignments in the knee and hip joints can even be positively counteracted before falling asleep in the supine position.

For people with knock-knees (hip joint in internal rotation and adduction), it is advisable to bend the legs 10 degrees and rotate them slightly outwards.

People with bow legs (hip joint in external rotation and abduction) can try to rotate their legs slightly inwards before falling asleep.

3. Correct sleeping position – supine position

The correct sleeping position is the supine position. A slight rotation of the cervical spine is possible and unproblematic. The arms can be positioned next to the body or on the stomach.

In this sleeping position, there is no constriction of the cervical spine or shoulder joint. The entire back is also relieved.

Only a very soft mattress can have a negative effect on an existing hollow back.

This sleeping position is also very beneficial for the hip and knee joints. Misalignments in the knee and hip joints can even be positively counteracted before falling asleep in the supine position.

For people with knock-knees (hip joint in internal rotation and adduction), it is advisable to bend the legs 10 degrees and rotate them slightly outwards.

People with bow legs (hip joint in external rotation and abduction) can try to rotate their legs slightly inwards before falling asleep.

4. Correct sleeping position – implementation in practice

Probably the most common sentence you hear as a therapist is: “I can’t influence that. I’m always tossing and turning at night anyway”.

The second most common sentence is: “But then I can’t fall asleep.”

Admittedly, both statements are not entirely unjustified, but they are no reason not to do so. You should consistently try to fall asleep lying on your back.

In the first 10-14 days it is very unfamiliar and you will actually find it much harder to fall asleep.

In the initial phase, you will also turn to your usual side or stomach position much more frequently at night.

After a few weeks, however, the body gets used to it. You no longer have any problems falling asleep and you will also sleep through the night mainly in the supine position.

The effort is worth it, because you will have significantly fewer orthopaedic problems in the future.

5. Ergonomics in sleep – The right mattress

With regard to nutrition, our behavior and environmental medicine, you will often find references on this website to the Stone Age. These lay on the bare ground, at best somewhat shielded by mosses and ferns.

After three 4-week bike tours with overnight stays on an air mattress (1.90m x 0.60m), I can give a personal assessment. In addition, due to material fatigue, the mattress was completely without air for three nights.

Unfortunately, you don’t really get used to it and in this case it is better to fall back on the comforts of the modern age.

There are hardly any upper price limits for mattresses. Whether this is necessary and the prices are always justified is at least questionable. Based on my own analysis and anamnesis of almost hundreds of back patients from personal physiotherapeutic care, I can say with absolute certainty that extremely soft mattresses and waterbeds are not advisable.

I recommend a medium-firm mattress in the medium price segment and to test the mattress in person on site. Furthermore, for environmental medical reasons, care must be taken to ensure that no toxic substances from the mattress are emitted.

Alternativ selbst behandeln

für mehr Gesundheit, Erfolg und Lebensglück

Ergonomie im Schlaf - Richtige Schlafpostion

Ergonomie im Schlaf

Themenübersicht

  1. Ergonomie im Schlaf – Definition
  2. Falsche Schlafpositionen im Überblick
  3. Richtige Schlafposition
  4. Richtige Schlafposition – Umsetzung in der Praxis
  5. Ergonomie im Schlaf – Richtige Matratze

1. Ergonomie im Schlaf – Definition

Die Ergonomie ist ein Fachbereich, in dem falsche, einseitige und unphysiologische Bewegungsmuster analysiert werden.

Danach werden diese Muster zur Behandlung und Vorbeugung orthopädischer Krankheitsbilder angepasst. Spricht man von Ergonomie, so denkt man in erster Linie an eine Verbesserung am Arbeitsplatz. Beispielsweise werden Veränderungen am Bürostuhl, der Schreibtischhöhe oder der Position des Bildschirms vorgenommen.

Deutlich weniger Bedeutung hingegen haben die Ergonomie beim Autofahren, Ergonomie im Alltag und Ergonomie im Schlaf.

Bei Ergonomie im Schlaf geht es in erster Linie um die Schlafposition. Aber auch die richtige Matratze und das richtige Kopfkissen spielen eine Rolle, wenn man von Ergonomie im Schlaf spricht.

In diesem Beitrag liegt der Fokus jedoch auf den falschen Schlafpositionen und dessen orthopädischen Folgen. Weiterhin wird auch die richtige Schlafposition erläutert und wie man es am Besten umsetzt.

2. Falsche Schlafposition – Überblick & Erläuterung

2.1. Falsche Schlafposition – Bauchlage

Wie hier im Bild mit Blitzen verdeutlicht wird, kommt es in der Bauchlage zu einer Beeinträchtigung der Halswirbelsäule. Da zwangsläufig die HWS in der Bauchlage stark zu einer Seite rotiert werden muss, entstehen Verkürzungen im Bereich der Rotatoren. Auch Bewegungseinschränkungen in der Rotation können die Folge sein.

Weiterhin werden die Außenrotatoren im Schultergelenk eingeengt und verkürzt. Dies wiederum ist eine häufige Ursache von Schultergelenkserkrankungen.

Noch schlimmere Folgen hat die häufige Bauchlage in der Nacht in Bezug auf die Lendenwirbelsäule. Wenn man nicht selbst zehn Jahre im Bereich Physiotherapie/ Orthopädie gearbeitet hat, dann hält man diese Aussage wahrscheinlich für völlige Übertreibung.

Die Analyse von hunderten Bandscheibenpatienten in der persönlichen Betreuung haben jedoch gezeigt, dass diese Schlafposition eine der Hauptursachen für Bandscheibenvorfälle im Bereich der LWS sind. Eine dauerhafte Verbesserung des Zustands tritt meist erst ein, wenn der Patient selbst auf Hinweis des Therapeuten die Schlafposition verändert.

2.2. Falsche Schlafposition – Seitlage

Die leichte Seitneigung der Halswirbelsäule ist noch vetretbar. Für das Schultergelenk ist es jedoch die schädlichste Schlafposition überhaupt.

Der Arm wird hierbei über Kopf gelagert und der Oberarmknochen ins Schulterdach gedrückt. Dazu kommt die wohl größtmögliche Außenrotation im Schultergelenk mit Verkürzung der Außenrotatoren.

Im Hüftgelenk ist eine Innenrotation und Adduktion zu sehen. Hüftgelenke sind sehr häufig zu stark nach innen gestellt und innenrotiert. Meist entsteht es durch Stürze auf den Trochanter (äußerer Hüftknochen) und ein abgeschwächtes Längsgewölbe im Fuß. Eine Hüftgelenksarthrose wird durch diese Schlafposition deutlich beschleunigt.

Auch im Knie können in dieser Schlafposition Beeinträchtigungen auftreten. Zum einem kann die Kompression Probleme machen, wenn lange Zeit Knie auf Knie liegt. Zum anderen kommt es zu einer Einengung im Bereich des Außenmeniskus.

Eine Veränderung dieser Schlafposition bringt vor allem in der Therapie von Schultergelenkserkrankungen große Fortschritte.

2.2. Falsche Schlafposition – Seitlage

Die leichte Seitneigung der Halswirbelsäule ist noch vetretbar. Für das Schultergelenk ist es jedoch die schädlichste Schlafposition überhaupt.

Der Arm wird hierbei über Kopf gelagert und der Oberarmknochen ins Schulterdach gedrückt. Dazu kommt die wohl größtmögliche Außenrotation im Schultergelenk mit Verkürzung der Außenrotatoren.

Im Hüftgelenk ist eine Innenrotation und Adduktion zu sehen. Hüftgelenke sind sehr häufig zu stark nach innen gestellt und innenrotiert. Meist entsteht es durch Stürze auf den Trochanter (äußerer Hüftknochen) und ein abgeschwächtes Längsgewölbe im Fuß. Eine Hüftgelenksarthrose wird durch diese Schlafposition deutlich beschleunigt.

Auch im Knie können in dieser Schlafposition Beeinträchtigungen auftreten. Zum einem kann die Kompression Probleme machen, wenn lange Zeit Knie auf Knie liegt. Zum anderen kommt es zu einer Einengung im Bereich des Außenmeniskus.

Eine Veränderung dieser Schlafposition bringt vor allem in der Therapie von Schultergelenkserkrankungen große Fortschritte.

2.1. Falsche Schlafposition – Bauchlage

Wie hier im Bild mit Blitzen verdeutlicht wird, kommt es in der Bauchlage zu einer Beeinträchtigung der Halswirbelsäule. Da zwangsläufig die HWS in der Bauchlage stark zu einer Seite rotiert werden muss, entstehen Verkürzungen im Bereich der Rotatoren. Auch Bewegungseinschränkungen in der Rotation können die Folge sein.

Weiterhin werden die Außenrotatoren im Schultergelenk eingeengt und verkürzt. Dies wiederum ist eine häufige Ursache von Schultergelenkserkrankungen.

Noch schlimmere Folgen hat die häufige Bauchlage in der Nacht in Bezug auf die Lendenwirbelsäule. Wenn man nicht selbst zehn Jahre im Bereich Physiotherapie/ Orthopädie gearbeitet hat, dann hält man diese Aussage wahrscheinlich für völlige Übertreibung.

Die Analyse von hunderten Bandscheibenpatienten in der persönlichen Betreuung haben jedoch gezeigt, dass diese Schlafposition eine der Hauptursachen für Bandscheibenvorfälle im Bereich der LWS sind. Eine dauerhafte Verbesserung des Zustands tritt meist erst ein, wenn der Patient selbst auf Hinweis des Therapeuten die Schlafposition verändert.

2.3. Falsche Schlafposition – Arme über

Kopf, Beine angebeugt

Im letzten Bild ist eine Überkopflagerung der Arme mit einer Außenrotationslagerung des Hüftgelenks zu sehen. In Kombination kommt diese Schlafposition eher selten vor. Eines von beiden wird jedoch gelegentlich genau so gemacht.

Bei Überkopfposition der Arme kommt es zu einer starken Einengung des subacromialen Raums. Mit diesem Raum ist der Abstand zwischen Schulterdach und Oberarmknochen gemeint. Weiterhin werden ebenfalls die Außenrotatoren im Schultergelenk stark eingeengt und verkürzt. Beides sind Gründe für die Entstehung von Schultergelenkserkrankungen.

Die angebeugten, außenrotierten Beine stellen kein Problem für die Hüftgelenke dar. Die Blitze sollen jedoch eine starke Einengung im Bereich des Innenmeniskus darstellen. Besonders bei Patienten, die bereits Knieprobleme haben, stellt es eine denkbar ungünstige Schlafposition dar.

3. Richtige Schlafposition – Rückenlage

Die richtige Schlafposition ist die Rückenlage. Eine leichte Rotation der Halswirbelsäule ist möglich und unproblematisch. Die Arme können neben dem Körper oder auf dem Bauch gelagert werden.

Es kommt in dieser Schlafposition zu keinerlei Einengungen im Bereich der Halswirbelsäule und des Schultergelenks. Auch der gesamte Rücken ist entlastet.

Einzig und alleine eine sehr weiche Matratze kann sich bei einem bestehenden Hohlkreuz negativ auswirken.

Auch im Bereich der Hüft- und Kniegelenke ist diese Schlafposition sehr vorteilhaft. Bei Fehlstellungen in Knie- und Hüftgelenken kann vor dem Einschlafen in der Rückenlage sogar positiv entgegengewirkt werden.

Für Menschen mit X-Beinen (Hüftgelenk in Innenrotation und Adduktion) empfiehlt es sich die Beine 10 Grad anzubeugen und  leicht nach außen zu rotieren.

Menschen mit O-Beinen (Hüftgelenk in Außenrotation und Abduktion) können vor dem Einschlafen versuchen die Beine leicht nach innen zu rotieren.

3. Richtige Schlafposition – Rückenlage

Die richtige Schlafposition ist die Rückenlage. Eine leichte Rotation der Halswirbelsäule ist möglich und unproblematisch. Die Arme können neben dem Körper oder auf dem Bauch gelagert werden.

Es kommt in dieser Schlafposition zu keinerlei Einengungen im Bereich der Halswirbelsäule und des Schultergelenks. Auch der gesamte Rücken ist entlastet.

Einzig und alleine eine sehr weiche Matratze kann sich bei einem bestehenden Hohlkreuz negativ auswirken.

Auch im Bereich der Hüft- und Kniegelenke ist diese Schlafposition sehr vorteilhaft. Bei Fehlstellungen in Knie- und Hüftgelenken kann vor dem Einschlafen in der Rückenlage sogar positiv entgegengewirkt werden.

Für Menschen mit X-Beinen (Hüftgelenk in Innenrotation und Adduktion) empfiehlt es sich die Beine 10 Grad anzubeugen und  leicht nach außen zu rotieren.

Menschen mit O-Beinen (Hüftgelenk in Außenrotation und Abduktion) können vor dem Einschlafen versuchen die Beine leicht nach innen zu rotieren.

4. Richtige Schlafposition – Umsetzung in der Praxis

Der wohl häufigste Satz, den man als Therapeut zu hören bekommt ist: „Das kann ich nicht beeinflussen. Ich drehe mich nachts sowieso ständig“.

Der zweithäufigste Satz lautet: „Dann kann ich aber nicht einschlafen.“

Beide Aussagen sind zugegebenermaßen nicht ganz unberechtigt, aber dennoch kein Grund dafür es nicht zu tun. Man sollte versuchen konsequent in Rückenlage einzuschlafen.

In den ersten 10-14 Tagen ist es sehr ungewohnt und man wird tatsächlich deutlich schlechter einschlafen können.

In der Anfangsphase wird man sich nachts auch noch deutlich häufiger in die gewohnte Seit- oder Bauchlage drehen.

Nach wenigen Wochen hat sich der Körper jedoch daran gewöhnt. Man hat keine Probleme mehr beim Einschlafen und auch nachts wird man überwiegend in der Rückenlage durchschlafen.

Der Aufwand lohnt sich, denn man wird in der Zukunft deutlich weniger orthopädische Probleme haben.

5. Ergonomie im Schlaf – Richtige Matratze

In Bezug auf Ernährung, unsere Verhaltensweisen und Umweltmedizin, wird man auf dieser Webseite sehr häufig den Hinweis finden, auf die Steinzeitmenschen zurück zu blicken. Diese lagen auf dem blanken Boden, bestenfalls durch Moose und Farne etwas abgeschirmt.

Nach drei 4-wöchigen Radtouren mit Übernachtung auf einer Luftatratze (1,90m x 0,60m) kann ich dazu eine persönliche Einschätzung abgeben. Zudem waren, aufgrund von Materialermüdung, drei Nächte komplett ohne Luft auf der Matratze.

Ein Gewöhnungseffekt tritt leider nicht wirklich ein und in dem Falle ist es doch besser auf den Komfort aus der Moderne zurückzugreifen.

Preislich gibt es bei Matratzen nach oben kaum noch Grenzen. Ob das nötig ist und die Preise immer gerechtfertigt sind, ist zumindest fraglich. Aufgrund eigener Analyse und Anamnese von knapp hunderten Rückenpatienten aus persönlicher physiotherapeutischer Betreuung, kann ich mit absoluter Sicherheit sagen, dass von extrem weichen Matratzen und Wasserbetten abzuraten ist.

Ich empfehle eine mittelharte Matratze im mittleren Preissegment und auf der Matratze persönlich vor Ort Probe zu liegen. Weiterhin ist aus umweltmedizinischen Gründen darauf zu achten, dass keine Giftstoffe von der Matratze ausgehen.